India beat Pakistan 3-2 to clinch the Asian Champions Trophy 2016


The 4th Men’s ACT2016 trophy  Final that lived up to its billing! In a fast-paced final, India won the Asian Champions Trophy after defeating Pakistan 3-2 in the final in in Kuantan, Malaysia. Nikkin Thimmaiah, Affan Yousuf and Rupinder Pal Singh scored goals for India.

The first quarter ended goalless. In the second quarter, Rupinder Pal Singh converted a penalty corner into a goal to give India a 1-0 lead.
Seven minutes later, Affan Yousuf scored another goal for India, taking the lead to 2-0.
Pakistan staged a come back and reduced the gap to one when when Aleem Bilal scored the first goal for Pakistan on a penalty corner in the 26th minute of the match.
The third quarter saw an intense battle between the arch-rivals. Pakistan put up a good show and managed to draw par when Ali Shan netted a superb goal in the 38th minute to even the scores.

However, India’s Nikkin Thimmaiah scored a field goal during the last quarter, helping his side to clinch the title from the defending champions.

Earlier, India, ranked 6th in the world, defeated South Korea in the semi-finals on Saturday to set up a title clash with Pakistan.

India had won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2011. India were runners-up to Pakistan in 2012.