DUSU elections – ABVP wins 3 seats of 4, AAP no show

DUSU election Results

NEW DELHI: BJP’s student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won three of the four seats in the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) elections for which counting was today.

Amit Tanwar was elected president of DUSU while Priyanka Chabri won vice president’s post. Ankit Sangwan and Mohit Sangwan have been elected as secretary and joint secretary respectively.

ABVP won the post of president, vice president and secretary. The post of joint secretary went to Congress’s National Students Union of India (NSUI).

The Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) student wing, the Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), did not contest student elections in Delhi University this year, but preferred to make noise to make its presence felt and blame everyone else for corruption.

“State elections are better monitored. Every step of the candidate, every expense is meticulously logged in. If this can happen in state elections, why can’t it happen in student elections,” said a senior leader.

A lot of students used NOTA, introduced for the first time in Delhi University. Only 36.2% of students cast their ballot in this year’s DUSU polls. The turnout was the lowest since 2011 when it was 36.5%.

One reason for the poor turnout was because four colleges — Ramjas, Law Faculty, Ramanujan and Bhaskaracharya College of Applied Science — did not conduct their internal students’ union polls along with the DUSU elections.

 The admission chaos and delay in declaration of results were other reasons attributed for the low turnout.